DID YOU KNOW THE CAFE IN THE COLBURN SCHOOL PLAZA IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC?

img_1987

I have walked past the Colburn School on Grand Avenue so many times, but I have never realized that the cafeteria style restaurant inside the performing arts school is open to the public.  The Colburn Café prides itself on offering up “a unique dining experience where sustainability is a way of life.”  The menu emphasizes seasonal, local ingredients from within 150 miles.  Well, enough said… I decided to give it a try.

When I arrived,  I overheard the manager saying that because school is not currently in session, the café did not have as many food options as usual.  Despite that, there was plenty to choose from.  There’s a grill to order hot items, a sandwich station, plus a soup and salad bar.  The daily special was chicken gnocchi, but I decided to go healthy.  There was a nice selection of fresh vegetables at the salad bar, so I made my own salad (.49/ounce).  Then I wanted to try something from the grill, and even though the burgers looked good I went for a cheese quesadilla ($4.99).  The salsa that came with the quesadilla was HOT!  I love myself some hot salsa, but this one was really spicy, so be careful.

The Colburn School Plaza Café is a hidden little gem that offers up good food and reasonable prices.  They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hours change according to school sessions.  Check the website for hours and daily specials.   I can’t wait to go back again.

COLBURN CAFE 200 S. Grand Avenue (at W. 2nd Street) cs.cafebonappetit.com

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

