PEZ CANTINA SERVES UP GREAT MEXICAN FOOD IN DTLA’S FINANCIAL DISTRICT, BUT WHY DO THEY HAVE TO CHARGE FOR CHIPS AND SALSA?

3d56f26b-1

Okay, when Pez Cantina first opened back in 2015, our first dining experience there was disappointing.  That was almost two years ago, but back then I promised to give the place another try, and I have.  Since then I have eaten there a few times, and things have gotten better.  There are not a lot of lunch options for Mexican food in DTLA’s Financial District, and Pez Cantina is one of my favorites.  A friend and I met there for lunch yesterday and had a nice meal (well, almost… keep reading).  Here is my biggest issue with this place… they charge you for chips and salsa.  If you are going to drop $40 for lunch, shouldn’t the chips and salsa be on the house?  Not at Pez Cantina.  If you want to start with the chips and salsa, it will cost you $3.  The restaurant offers up different kinds of salsas, but if you ask for more than one, they charge you an additional $2 for each one.  Not cool.  Well, guess what, despite my objections, we ordered the chips and salsa anyway, but decided to stick with one variety of salsa.  We got the Salsa Negra which was delicious with just the right amount of spice.

0f5f68d2-1

For my entrée I decided to go with the Mexican Caesar salad ($13) which consisted of romaine hearts, kale, cotija cheese, pepitas, and croutons topped with Casesar “Verde” dressing.  Since I already splurged for $3 chips and salsa, I decided to spend a little more and added chicken for an additional $5.  The salad was very tasty and I loved that the added chicken was all breast meat.  So far so good.

My friend ordered the Pozole and Pez House Salad combo ($15).  She raved about the pozole but did not really eat her salad because she said the “the mixed greens tasted like dirt.”  See, there it is again, I just can’t go to Pez Cantina and be completely satisfied.  I’m not sure what’s going on.  Our server was very friendly and was helpful in suggesting her favorite items.  I love the atmosphere.  The food is good, but there is always something that can be better.  You might not believe me, but I really like Pez Cantina and will eat there again soon.  If you give it a try, please let me know your opinions in the comment section below or on DTLAexplorer social media: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

PEZ CANTINA 401 S. Grand Avenue (between 4th and 5th Streets) 213.258.2280 pezcantina.com

 

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

