MIXT RESTAURANT SHOULD BE “MIXED” INTO YOUR DTLA LUNCH LOCATION ROTATION

img_6540

When it comes to lunch in DTLA, I have a routine.  I don’t have a lot of time so I end up going to the same few restaurants over and over.  I have always walked past a restaurant called Mixt in the California Plaza, and for some reason I never stopped for lunch.  Today I decided to be adventurous and give it a try. 

Mixt markets itself as “offering smart, healthy, on-the-go people, smart, healthy, on-the-go food.”  According to their website, the food at Mixt is sustainable, local, organic and non-GMO (genetically modified organisms).  They strive to create delicious meals that support healthy lifestyles.  The menu is filled with signature salads and a few sandwich options.  They also offer up a create my own salad ($9.95) which allows you to choose from six different organic greens or organic grains (farro or quinoa), plus five specialty ingredients and dressing.   The selection of vegetables, fruits and nuts is huge.  I chose romaine hearts with cherry tomatoes, roasted golden beets, edamame, garbanzo beans and garlic herb croutons with balsamic vinaigrette.  I added grilled chicken for an additional $3.  The salad was just the right portion and tasted very fresh.  I loved that the chicken was served warm.

img_6542

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in helping decide what to eat.  Mixt will definitely go into my weekly lunch rotation.  I just wish I would have walked into the restaurant sooner.  Mixt is only open on weekdays, and only open from 10:30am to 2:30pm.

MIXT 350 S. Grand Avenue (in California Plaza) mixt.com

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

