GO TO EGGSLUT IN DTLA’S GRAND CENTRAL MARKET AND ORDER THE “SLUT”

20150423_114312 I don’t really have the patience to wait in line, especially when I’m hungry.  Okay, there is one exception… I’ll wait in line all day at Eggslut in the Grand Central Market.  I don’t know what it is about that place, but it is so worth the wait.  Hey, maybe it’s the wait that makes it so good?  Every time I head to Eggslut I order the same thing, the Bacon, Egg & Cheese Sandwich ($6).  It’s  an over medium egg, hardwood smoked bacon and cheddar cheese topped with chipotle ketchup on a warm brioche bun.  Well, a friend was in DTLA so I dragged her to Eggslut.  We waited in line and when we made it to the counter, she ordered the “Fairfax” ($7), soft scrambled eggs and chives, cheddar cheese, caramelized onions and sriracha mayo on that same warm brioche bun.  When it was my turn to order I surprised myself and ordered the “Slut” ($9).  I wasn’t really sure what I was ordering.  The menu described it as a coddled egg on top of a smooth potato puree, poached in a glass jar and served with a demi baguette.  I don’t know what came over me.  I think I just wanted to order a “Slut.”  Yes, apparently sometimes I’m just naughty that way.

20150423_114602

No surprise here… my friend loved her food.  The “Fairfax” was a hit.  As for my “Slut,” there are no words, but if I could find the words you’d have a hard time understanding me because my mouth would be full.  It looks all boring and bland, but it was so far from that.  This “slut” was delicious.  (I don’t think I ever thought I would type that previous sentence.)  I now know that a coddled egg is lightly cooked.  You mixed it into the potato puree and eat it up.  Okay, I do have two complaints: 1) They served it with a plastic soup spoon.  It is very hard to scrape a small glass jar clean with a soup spoon.  I ended up using my fingers and licking them clean.  2) I want more.  The serving size needs to be bigger.  Let’s be honest, it is so good that if they put a vat of this stuff in front of me, I’d eat it all and still want more.

20150423_114616

If you have never been to Eggslut, go wait in the line.  It’s worth it.   First timers should start with one of their sandwiches.  If you are a repeat customer and you have not tried the “slut,” I promise you will love it.  I love the “slut.”  (Again, I never thought I would be proclaiming that on a public website.)

Eggslut 317 So. Broadway (inside the Grand Central Market) 213.624.2378

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GO TO EGGSLUT IN DTLA’S GRAND CENTRAL MARKET AND ORDER THE “SLUT”

  1. Pingback: TOP 10 DTLA RESTAURANT DISHES FOR 2015 | DTLAexplorer.com

Leave a Reply

