MABEL’S CHICKEN AND WAFFLES RESTAURANT FINALLY OPENS ON OLYMPIC BLVD IN DTLA

20150421_130712

SADLY, Mabel’s Chicken and Waffles has closed!

It was back in the Fall of 2013 when the sign for Mabel’s Chicken and Waffles restaurant went up on Olympic Boulevard between Hill and Olive.  Well, finally after more than a year of waiting, the place has opened.  They are currently only serving  lunch right now, but expect the official opening with extended hours in May.

Mabel’s is run by chef to the stars Jason Harley.  Chef J (as he is known) prides himself on cooking with organic foods.  The restaurant’s website reads,”You will only find organic, locally-sourced items (fruits and vegetables) on our menu. We are also happy to let you know that our chickens (and eggs) come from non GMO, free-to-roam farms – as we believe we have a responsibility to protect the welfare of all animals (including our loyal patrons).”

20150421_125252

I hiked over to Mabel’s today for lunch.  As soon as I walked in, I was greeted by Chef J himself.  He could not have been more friendly or inviting.  They are still perfecting the menu, so right now the only copy is taped to the counter.  I ordered the white meat combo meal ($13).  It’s two pieces of white meat fried chicken, a giant waffle, a side (I choose the coleslaw) and a drink, plus your choice of sauce and syrup.  So many choices!  For my sauce I decided on the Asian Sweet Chili, and for my syrup I picked the Jalapeno Vanilla bean.

20150421_123834

As I waited for my food, I was surprised how many people walking by the restaurant looked in the window or came in to check the place out.  Once my food arrived, I really never looked up again.  The fried chicken was delicious.  I have no idea what it was covered in, but it was so good.  The waffle was great too.  I even loved the coleslaw.  But the biggest surprise was the sauce and syrup.  They are apparently made fresh daily.  I hope they start selling jars of this sauce.  It was that good.

Just before I left, I texted a friend to tell her about the place and that I worry that I will start gaining weight because I want to eat Mabel’s fried chicken and waffles every day.  As I got up to leave, Chef J thanked me for coming and asked how I liked the food.  I shared my concern about gaining weight and he told me that they also serve grilled chicken and salads.  Thank goodness.

Check this place out before it becomes so popular that you need to wait in line to get seated.  Don’t be discouraged by Mabel’s neighbors.  There is a marijuana dispensary on one side and a graffiti tagged building on the other side.  All that matters is what they serve inside… great food.

Mabel’s Chicken and Waffles 314 W. Olympic Boulevard (at Midway Place) 213.536.5557

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MABEL’S CHICKEN AND WAFFLES RESTAURANT FINALLY OPENS ON OLYMPIC BLVD IN DTLA

  1. Pingback: MABEL’S CHICKEN & WAFFLES SET TO REOPEN AS BIRDIES | DTLAexplorer.com

  2. Pingback: MABLE’S CHICKEN AND WAFFLES ARE DELICIOUS BUT DON’T MISS OUT ON THE CHEESECAKE | DTLAexplorer.com

Leave a Reply

