COCO FRESH TEA AND JUICE OPENS AT HOPE & 11TH IN DTLA’S SOUTH PARK

20150415_175316What used to be part of the ground floor of the parking structure at Hope and 11th Streets in the South Park neighborhood of DTLA is now a CoCo Fresh Tea & Juice shop.  I’ve never heard of CoCo Fresh but there are 1,900 stores worldwide.  It’s the world’s largest bubble tea chain.  Well, I’ve watched the parking structure transform (see photos below) into a series of store fronts over the past several months and today I got to taste the results.  The store is very sterile with white walls and exposed air ducts.  It has a counter where you order with an overhead menu that lists dozens of teas, milk teas, fruit juices, yogurts and slushes.  There are descriptions under each item in Chinese (or maybe that’s just the name of the items in Chinese?  I don’t know).  Anyway, we had no idea what we were ordering, but the cashier was more than helpful and answered all our questions.

I ordered the Lemon Dunk ($4.82).  It only comes in one size (large) and I added boba pearls for an additional .46 cents.  It was quite refreshing, but half the cup was taken up with an entire sliced lemon.  I would have preferred more juice and less lemon peel.  I also hated that there were lemon seeds mixed in with my boba pearls.  My husband ordered the Lemon Yogurt ($4.59) and he also splurged and added the .46 cent boba pearls.  Although this is called yogurt, it is not like traditional yogurt.  It was a delicious creamy lemon flavored drink.  I liked it much better than my Lemon Dunk.

I’m glad there is a boba shop in the South Park area, and I hope people find this location.  It is kind of tucked away, so you have to know it is there.  Hopefully when more shops open along Hope more people will be drawn to the area.  Right now they are offering a Grand Opening special:  Buy one Bubble Tea and get one free.  I’m not sure what a bubble tea is, but I’m sure I’m going to head back and try one soon.

20150415_175031

CoCo Fresh Tea & Juice 1113 Hope Street (just south of 11th Street)

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to COCO FRESH TEA AND JUICE OPENS AT HOPE & 11TH IN DTLA’S SOUTH PARK

  1. Anonymous says:

    bubble tea is just another name for a drink with boba pearls.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    For fresh juice, will suggest to try lemon green tea or grapefruit green tea next time : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

