I FINALLY GOT MY SWEET & SALTY ICE CREAM SANDWICH FROM LUDO BIRD

20150402_211604For months I have been wanting (okay, craving) a Sweet & Salty Ice Cream Sandwich from Ludo Bird inside Staples Center.  I always get the Ludo Bird Chicken Sandwich because it is one of the best things I have ever eaten.  I’ve not ordered the chicken sandwich AND the ice cream sandwich because I don’t want to look like a pig.  That all changed last night.  We were at the Los Angeles Kings vs. Edmonton Oilers hockey game.  During the break between the second and third periods I decide I am finally getting my ice cream sandwich.  We sit on the other side of the stadium, so we have to make our way around the main concourse to the Ludo Bird counter near aisle 119.  I think everyone in the stadium knew I was making a beeline for Ludo Bird.  Every single person in that stadium purposely gets in front of me and then walks as slow as possible.  Thank God I don’t have Tourette’s Syndrome because my inside voice is screaming “Move out of my way people.”  It’s really a lot more explicit than that, but I’m trying to keep it clean.  We finally make it to Ludo Bird and I sprint up to the counter and order my Sweet & Salty Ice Cream Sandwich.  I shove a $5 bill at the cashier.  He then asks, “What flavor?”  Who knew you had a choice of flavors (chocolate, vanilla or caramel)?  “Vanilla please,” I squeal.  I’m like a kid at Christmas.  I’m so excited.  Now I just have to wait for them to make it.  I’m pacing back and forth.  The suspense is killing me.  How is it going to look?  What is it going to taste like?  Will I want to share it?  Maybe I should have ordered all three flavors.  It seems like an eternity, but the woman behind the counter finally calls my number (it’s been about 2 minutes, but that’s a long time when you are waiting for your first Ludo Bird Sweet & Salty Ice Cream Sandwich).  I push my way past some small children, again only using my inside voice (“Move it little punks”) and there it is.  Huh?  That’s it?  It’s a scoop of vanilla ice cream squished between a hamburger bun with some powdered sugar sprinkled on top.  Really?  Where’s Ashton Kutcher?  Am I being Punked?  Okay, maybe calling it a hamburger bun is a bit crass.  It’s a toasted brioche.  Whatever!

20150402_211755

Well, here it goes.  I take a bite.  The ice cream oozes out the side and I get more bun than ice cream.  I make sure to get a full mouthful on the second bite.  I also get powdered sugar all over my face and Kings jersey.  I now look like a Colombian drug lord covered in cocaine.  You are probably wondering, “How does it taste?”  It’s good, but it was not what I was expecting.  When I had my first bite of a Ludo Bird Chicken Sandwich my eyes rolled back in my head and I moaned a bit.  Not so much for this ice cream on a fancy hamburger bun.  Don’t get me wrong.  I kept eating it and after a few more bites I offer my husband some.  20150402_212201He bites it, his eyes roll back in his head and he moans,  “F***ing Delicious.”  I’m not kidding.  That is an exact quote.  Cleary my expectations were set way too high.  Next visit to Staples Center I will stick to the chicken sandwich (and have a bite of my husband’s ice cream sandwich).

Oh, the best part of the night?  The Kings won 8 to 2.  Go Kings Go!

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

