THE MUST HAS THE BEST MAC AND CHEESE IN DTLA

20150328_203632I’ve been wanting to check out The Must for months now and finally made it there last night.  It’s a restaurant and bar on Winston Street between Main and Los Angeles Streets that I follow on Instagram.  I was surprised at how nice this place was compared to my Instagram inspired expectations.  I was expecting some dark dive bar, but this was a full on sophisticated restaurant.  I’m so impressed!

We didn’t want to have a full meal, just drinks and appetizers, so we headed to the  bar.  Let’s just say this is not the friendliest bar staff in DTLA.  They were very efficient, but not friendly. 

I ordered the Mustgarita ($12).  It’s The Must’s version of the margarita, Cimmaron Blanco Tequila, muddled grapefruit, fresh lime juice, agave syrup, Buchant orange liqueur and a splash of Ulacia Txakolina white wine.  It was a great cocktail.

20150328_204603

We ordered a few starters off the food menu.  Okay, the Sharp Cheddar Shells and Cheese ($10) topped with goldfish cracker crumbles was awesome.  It was perfect mac and cheese!  It was so good, I really didn’t want to share it with my friends.  Yes, I “must” have it again.  I will order this every time I go to The Must.

20150328_205959

We also ordered the Parmesan Fries with chili flakes ($7).  I didn’t really taste any chili flakes.  Our healthy friends wanted a side of the grilled broccolini ($6).  Both of these dishes were good, but not as good as that Mac and Cheese.  I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Despite the unfriendly bar service, I look forward to having full lunch or dinner at The Must.  And guess what, I will order the Mac and Cheese as soon as I get there!

20150328_212743

The Must 117 Winston Street (at Main Street) 213,628.2000

About DTLAexplorer

Come along as we explore all the Downtown Los Angeles has to offer!
This entry was posted in DTLA Bar, DTLA Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

